The Happiness of Delicious Feeling

The pursuit of happiness through the senses

It’s cold and beautifully cinematic January 8, 2009

d878333e636f4506da4a716fb03c8bef53740d57_m

I quite cherish January when excessive everything comes to a halt. When it gets properly cold and you almost certainly step out onto icey pavements, you just have to slow down and absorb. I love the silence that comes with the cold weather. The sort of quiet that creates a sense of space, even in a city like London.  It is during these times that I feel the urge to listen to quieter sounds, to stay in and to get cosy under the covers.

Tonight  I’ve put on Olafur Arnaulds loudly so that my room is filled with the sounds of his computer explorations in strings and the piano. I am in the mood for beautiful and haunting images. Yesterday, I spent most of the day listening to Paavoharju and ended the day by watching Twin Peaks again. At the moment I am overcome by stillness and slowness.

Something in the music in Laulu Laakson Kukista reminds me of a French film I watched a few years ago. I remember how it had such a residual effect on me that I thought about the film for days and weeks. I am also reminded of the Lee Jones mix on Resident Advisor and I particularly love that Golden the Pony Boy is in the mix. For the longest time I could not remember where I’d heard it from until I started seeing the scenes from the magical  Science of Sleep in my head.

These are sounds and images I’d like to wrap myself in when the days are short and it’s quietly freezing. These are the senses that need to be filled to keep me blissful.


 

3 Responses to “It’s cold and beautifully cinematic”

  1. Sarah Says:

    i love this post! it really summons a january feeling in me innards!

  2. chrisdennis Says:

    it’s the feeling of delicious winter.

  3. Joanne Says:

    oh how I miss you :(


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.