The Happiness of Delicious Feeling

The pursuit of happiness through the senses

I like my outdoors indoors January 26, 2009

There’s a bit of magic when your space is altered. I love it when the outdoors get mixed up with the indoors and vice versa. The best art installations I’ve seen have mostly been about altering your environment, which is familiar in an Alice in Wonderland kind of way.

Last year, I saw some pretty spectacular outdoor/indoor mix-up. I was reminded of this when I was looking at an Anthony McCall image on  Chris’s blog. Technically the exhibition I went to in the Serpentine Gallery didn’t really bring the outdoors indoors but it helped fuel my imagination on what it was like to be able to walk towards the sunlight in a midnight sky.

mccallThis reminded me then of the time when we went to see Roger Hiorn’s Seizure. A flat in a housing estate in Elephant & Castle had been transformed into a crystal house.

2955012355_be4208184eOn a smaller scale, a nice way to bring the outdoors indoors is through something like a tree bed. Having been brought up in the city, I have found nature slightly scary. While I can appreciate nature aesthetically, I am not entirely comfortable with being outdoors. I like that someone has thought to design something for the non-campers out there.

tree-bedLast summer, on a glorious sunny day, I found myself walking along South Bank and stumbled upon the Armchair Theater.

7f1deb64ddaeb1a549d32136f2075cbc_r1

But really, the quickest way to bring the outdoors indoors or the playground anywhere is with this swing skirt by Rachel Griffin. I love that with this one simple design, this is fashion that you can wear and play in anywhere, anytime. Easily going back in time and being a kid again.

chairswing2

 

One Response to “I like my outdoors indoors”

  1. [...] Read the original here: I like my outdoors indoors « The Happiness of Delicious Feeling [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.